Why wearing red can make you feel more powerful and attractive

This season came with a new trend color: Red. Red shoes, red dresses, red lipstick, red coats, anything that comes in this color will immediately draw the attention towards you and make you the star of the day. And it’s not applied only to wardrobe items, but also to hair, lipstick or makeup. But why is this color so powerful and why does it make you feel like you can conquer the world when wearing it?

 

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 19.11.39

Lets first bring science into action and explain why are we so susceptible when it comes to the color of passion.

Red is one of the four primary colors, along with blue, yellow and green, and it’s the one representing physical emotions. Our ancestors first started to paint their bodies red using natural crayons and it stand for the color of blood, that could have been associated to either life or death, depending on the ceremony. It was used by all the cultures around the world and we often see it in the items discovered by archeologists.
Although it is not the most visible one, it has the most power when it comes to attracting attention, this being the reason why traffic lights use it and also error codes in the IT field. Often associated with masculinity, red makes peoples heart rate increase and triggers the “fight or flight” reaction.
Sometimes is stands out for negative sentiments, such as aggressiveness, domination, violence or quick-temper, but also for positive ones such as affection, love, passion or life.

Old society was afraid of it’s power.

Unfortunately in the past it was also the color of whores and witches. They were condemned by the early society for the power that inflicted on mans. It was often said that a woman with red hair had the power to put a spell on even the most powerful man and make them obedient, this leaded to a series of crimes made against red headed women and they were burned alive for witchcraft.
If we go back to the era of courtesans and geisha’s, we would find out that red was their favorite color, especially for the lips, makeup and hair accessories, due to it’s power to attract the attention from both sexes. The Red Light District from Amsterdam become notorious by using it and also the Red Carpet that it is used at events took advantage of the colors power.

Nowadays red is the color of love, desire, determination and lust.

In the country side when a girl had red cheeks that would be a sign of both health and beauty, giving her more chances for a proposal, reason why we now use blush to make our cheeks resemble roses.
Getting attention from the opposite sex is easier when you are wearing red, science also says. This vibrant color will surround you with an allure of both power, dominance and confidence. There are rumors of waitresses confessing that wearing red will make them earn more tips from the costumers, whether this is a fact or not, cannot be probed by science, but we can for sure give it a try when we want to burst our charisma. The BDSM culture has red as it’s trademark color and when it comes to lingerie, the red one is definitely ranked as the sexier.

From my experience in working in an office I can tell you for sure that moving from blonde to scarlet red made me far more attractive to my colleagues but also to man in general. I have been receiving more likes on Facebook or Instagram. Also I see myself as more self-secured when it comes to expressing myself and standing up to my opinion.
I have made it one of my routines to add a little more red to my look when I want to draw the attention to myself when giving a speech or having a meeting where I want to make my voice heard. I see that mansplaining is less likely to occur when I am wearing this slightly aggressive color. My most in-handy solution is the red lipstick. I have it always in my purse and I add it as soon as I am in need of a new vibe of confidence. For me it’s like a shield in an office mainly filled with man. If you want to put is’t magic to a test you should definitely give it a try.

As a woman that is working in the IT world, mostly with men and for men, it can be quite hard to make myself heard or taken into account, so I am constantly trying to find solutions to empower me and the woman around be to make our voice visible. Red somehow manages to give me that extra burst that I need when in comes to confidence so I encourage all ladies around the world to give it a try and see what it can do for them. Maybe it is the ingredient they were lacking.

2 thoughts on “Why wearing red can make you feel more powerful and attractive

  1. Loved your post, I’m always interested in the knowledge behind style choices- just goes to show you how much it’s tied to us, our lives and history. And as a red lover, this post hit the nail square on the head for me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

